Programme philosophy

Physics, as a fundamental science, provides a firm basis for creative work in fields of science and technology. It offers excellence background for several other professional studies such as engineering, Electronics, Architecture, Nuclear Technology, Information technology, Mineral Exploration, Medical Sciences etc. Several areas of interest and gainful employments are therefore open to graduates of Physics in Government, Education, Research, Management, Companies, Banking, Communications, Space and Industries.

Programme objective

The programme of the department is specifically aimed at producing graduates who are competent in the subject of Physics as well as being skilful in the practice and techniques of the practical Physics; Pure and Applied Physics, utilising his own accumulated knowledge and all they can gain from the study of scientific literature.

Click here to see staff profiles

Admission requirement

  1. UTME Candidates: Passes at credit level in five subjects, which include English Language, Mathematics, Chemistry and Physics at Ordinary level (SSCE, WASCE, GCE and NECO)
  2. Direct Entry Candidates: Possession of one of the following qualifications
    • Nigeria Certificate in Education (NCE) Upper Credit (with two ‘A’ Level passes in chemistry and anyone of Physics, Mathematics)
    • First degree in a related area from a recognized University
    • Plus UTME requirement

Click here for more information on admission requirements

Duration of programme

The Department of Physics offers a four-year degree programme. The minimum period allowed is four (4) years while the maximum period allowed is six (6) years. Any student who fails to complete the requirements and graduate within the time allowed goes back without the degree.

Share on: